2019 Downtown Living Tour Stops
- Tour Stop: GrangeX
- Tour Stop: Piper Phillips Residences
- Tour Stop: Whitney Lofts
- Tour Stop: Syracuse Trust
- Tour Stop: Whitlock Building
- Tour Stop: TCGplayer
- Tour Stop: Wood Building
215 East Water Street
GrangeX is a $3.4 million expansion of the Historic Grange Building renovation project completed in 2012 by the development team of Mike Wicker, James Leana and Donald McMasters.
Completed in January, 2019, GrangeX features nine executive apartment homes including three flats, and six townhouse style units with private balconies.
Together, GrangeX and the Historic Grange contain a total of 12 executive apartment homes and include private on-site parking. Located in the heart of the historic Hanover Square district, the combined property is the perfect fit for empty nesters and/or business executives seeking the charm and excitement of downtown living.
All units feature two bedrooms and either one and one-half or two and one-half bathrooms. Each townhouse unit is uniquely designed to contain its bedrooms, main bathrooms and laundry rooms on the lower level; with the gourmet kitchen, living room, half-bathroom and private balcony on the upper level.
Designed by Open Atelier Architects, the Grange-X units have an edgy and cotemporary feel that is sure to appeal to a diverse population.
Please note, this stop is stair access only for the tour. An elevator is available for residents.
229 West Fayette Street
The Piper Phillips Building, established in 1872, is one of the oldest buildings in Armory Square – and it contains the oldest door in the City of Syracuse.
A horse stable originally connected the building to the Bentley-Settle Building next-door, and the upper floors of Piper Phillips were originally used as a hotel to host railroad workers in Armory Square’s earliest days.
Armory Boys, LLC purchased the Piper Phillips Building in 2017. Thoughtful attention to the building’s charm and character – coupled with the most modern, elegant finishes – enhance each unit in a very special way. No two units are the same. Each apartment in the Piper Phillips Building is named after a place of prominence associated with the building. There is the Piper Suite, and the Phillips Suite – both nods to the building’s name – and the Walton Suite.
321-323 South Salina Street
Centrally located in the Heart of Downtown Syracuse, The Whitney Lofts offer tenants brand new loft-style apartments that blend historic charms and character with state-of-the-art new amenities.
In the mid-to-late 1800s, Syracuse was a flourishing industrial center, a hub of banking and commerce, and South Salina Street was the city’s “Shopping District.” The buildings that comprise Whitney Lofts were established in 1855, and are the only two surviving structures from a group of five buildings known as the “Washington Stores.” They were added to the National Register of Historic Places in 2009.
The buildings’ name is a nod to the Whitney Department Store, which occupied 321 South Salina Street in the 1950s and 1960s, but before that it housed the Park & Brannock Shoe Company. This is where Charles Brannock invented The Brannock Device. Patented in 1927, this became the industry standard to measure shoe size.
Developers Ryan and Leigh Ann Benz and Steve Case purchased 321 South Salina Street in 2016, and purchased its adjacent neighbor, 323 South Salina Street, in 2017. Part of the partners’ $4.2 million renovation included removing cement that covered the windows – installed in the 1960s –to restore the buildings to their 1930s appearance.
In a way that maintains the building’s original character, all 16 apartments boast original – newly refinished - hardwood floors dating back to the early 1920s, in addition to original brick archways and tin ceilings. Two apartments feature outdoor terraces that overlook Bank Alley.
Oh My Darling and Clementine - a full-service restaurant and grab-and-go breakfast and lunch counter respectively – celebrated their grand openings in March. They occupy 5,500 square feet on the ground floor of both buildings. The Fitz, a speakeasy-style bar, is located in the basement of the building. Check out all three locations after you visit the apartments upstairs!
325 South Salina Street
The Syracuse Trust Building, originally built as a multi-floor bank with the bank tellers stationed on the first floor, and bank offices on the floors above, is now home to four luxurious condominiums and commercial space available for development on the ground floor.
Although The Syracuse Trust Company was the original tenant in the building, it’s not the only bank in the building's history. Marine Midland had a branch there until 1980. An underground passage existed under what’s now known as Bank Alley, linking this building to another building on Warren Street to allow guards to transport money between the bank branches, without having to exit to the street. The passage was blocked off at both ends when the banks vacated each building in 1980. From 1986 to 2007, 325 South Salina Street was home to a few offices but remained mostly vacant until 2011, when Pemco Group, Inc. and Goodfellow Construction Management, Ltd. partnered to undertake an historic renovation of the building.
Fun Fact: The building’s original use as a bank is where the gargoyles on the front façade of the building, labeled ‘Thrift’ and ‘Waste’ originate.
480 South Salina Street
The Whitlock Building is a symbol of the rebirth that South Salina Street has experienced in the last couple of years, and offers an exciting glimpse ahead into Downtown’s exciting future as well.
Named after the Whitlock family – prosperous merchants in Syracuse at the turn of the 20th century – the building was first established more than 100 years ago as six-stories, home to office and retail. The building was rebuilt in 1947 in its current two-story form. Syracusians who remember shopping along South Salina Street will remember the Whitlock as the home of Lorenzo’s Restaurant in the 1950s, and later, Goldberg’s Furniture. Goldberg’s operated a large showroom at the Whitlock Building through the late 1990s.
A $3 million transformation is underway to bring new life to the building. When construction is complete, the Whitlock Building will feature a total of 26 apartments, unlike any others found in Downtown Syracuse.
The building promotes a pedestrian-friendly urban lifestyle. Each apartment has a unique layout, and each side of the building has a different feel: Ranging between 700 and 1,200 square feet, the units on the “Whitlock Salina” side feature a mix of large one-bedroom and two-bedroom units. The 13 units along the “Whitlock Clinton” side feature an upstairs loft. On the Clinton street side of the building, tenants have access to a 1,500 square foot roof top deck. Two larger 8,000 square-feet decks are under construction.
With unique finishes and high-tech features tailored to the modern urban living experience throughout, all of the apartments embody the mission of the Whitlock Partners: To maximize space and minimize waste. The partners prioritized energy-efficiency throughout the project, and are in the process of getting Energy Star certification.
Please note, this building is stair access only for the tour, but will have an elevator once complete.
440 South Warren Street
TCGplayer is proud to be part of the growing technology scene in Downtown Syracuse. Founded in Central New York by Chedy Hampson, TCGplayer operates the leading online marketplace for trading card games and creates software that powers thousands of local game stores across the country.
The company established its headquarters in The Galleries in 2018. The 44,000-square foot space highlights the company’s love of geek culture and features inspiration from some of staff members’ favorite fandoms.
As soon as you enter TCGplayer’s walls, you’ll feel like you’ve stepped into a medieval castle. Continue exploring to discover a two-story pirate ship (which currently houses TCGplayer’s Customer Service department) and themed workspaces that transport you to different worlds. There’s a starship room that’s ready for blast-off, a wizard room for practicing your potions and a video game room to help you level up. Don’t forget to take a close look at the faces showcased in the frames—you might even recognize a few TCGplayer staff members!
Far from your average workplace, TCGplayer’s award-winning culture gains local and national accolades year after year. It’s been named a Great Place to Work by employees four years in a row and has also been recognized as one of Fortune’s 100 Best Workplaces for Women (2015), one of the Top 50 Companies in New York State (2016 and 2017) and CenterState CEO’s 2017 Business of the Year.
Learn more by visiting careers.tcgplayer.com.
205 East Jefferson Street
The Wood Building’s name honors an entrepreneurial woman who achieved many firsts in Syracuse. Julia E. Wood was the first woman in Syracuse to file a patent, buy land, construct a building and own her own business. Today, her legacy lives on in the building's name.
Julia grew up in a family of corset makers. She filed a patent for a new design, “The Madame Wood Corset,” in 1888. The design received wide success – advertisements ran in newspapers as far away as Chicago – prompting Julia to purchase land to build a place for her business, J.E. Wood & Company. Thus, the Wood Building was established in 1900. Julia moved her business into an upper floor of the four-story building – possibly the third floor – and rented out two storefronts and the remainder of the space.
By 1901, the Central City Suspenders Manufacturing Company, the Electrus Company (which made medical trusses), two dressmakers and a dentist office called the building home. There is also evidence of two early apartments (later converted to office space) in the Syracuse City Directory, showing how once again Wood was ahead of her time in creating a true mixed-use building!
The J.E. Wood & Company continued to operate in the building through 1925, remaining in the family after Julia’s death until it was sold. In the mid-1920s, the building harbored one of the most ornate speakeasies in Syracuse. With private rooms off the main lounge, fancy décor, ornate furniture and mahogany bar, there is a good chance that the speakeasy was established in the exact space formerly occupied by J.E. Wood & Company. A list of the private club’s members – rumored to have featured the names of prominent citizens – was confiscated in a 1931 police raid.
Current owner, Menachem Friedfertig, has meticulously restored The Wood Building to preserve its historic character. Working with Luke Esposito of R.F. Espositio Construction Management Company, six unique apartments are now complete.
The building most recently housed the NYNEX Telephone Company in the mid 1990s.
Please note, this building is stair access only.